Access Communications Announces Fiscal 2023 Results & New Board Members

Regina, SK – Access Communications Co-operative (Access) announced the results of the Fiscal 2023 year to individual and organizational members, delegates, and the public at its Annual General Meeting held January 16, 2024.

Access announced a solid financial performance for the year investing $26.3 million in capital spending. The organization also invested nearly $2.4 million in its community programming channel, AccessNow TV, which now airs in 110 communities across the province. As a not-for-profit, community-owned co-operative, Access reinvests 100% of its earnings into the communities and rural areas it serves. 

The Board of Directors of Access Communications Co-operative also announced that Karen Smith has been re-elected Chair of the Board for 2024. She recently retired as the CEO of the Better Business Bureau of Saskatchewan. Karen is currently a director for the Regina Community Clinic, a director for the Saskatchewan Home Warranty Program, and co-chair for the Saskatchewan ICD Advisory Board. 

“Access is proud to be a 100 percent community owned, not for profit co-operative,” said Karen Smith, 2024 Chair of the Board of Directors for Access. “What makes us truly unique is Access reinvests it’s profits back into the products, services, and the communities we are honoured to support. Last year is a testament to that and our strategic direction going forward. We are committed to connecting this province. I want to thank my colleagues on the board for their time and dedication this past year.”

Four directors were elected to the Access Communications Board of Directors for 2024.

•    Leslie Ciz was re-elected to the board and will serve as the Board Secretary. Leslie lives in Regina and does Business Consulting at MNP. 
•    Ryan Janke was re-elected to the board and is the Senior Manager of Information Technology at Weyburn Credit Union. Ryan lives in Weyburn.
•    Kyle Mitchell is a newly elected director and an Associate Vice President, Sales and Distribution for CUMIS. Kyle lives in Regina.
•    Jocelyn Underwood is a newly elected director and a Senior Manager at MNP. Jocelyn resides in Regina.

For the full Access Communications 2023 Annual Report and Financial Statements, visit:

Access Communications 2024 Board of Directors & Districts
Karen Smith (Chair), Regina
Regan Beck, North Battleford
Leslie Ciz (Secretary), Regina
Steve Compton, Regina
Ryan Janke, Weyburn
Lorna Knudson (Vice Chair), Regina
James Lainton (Past Chair), Estevan
Kama Leier, Regina
Gina McGinn, Regina
Juanita Pelogi, Yorkton
Collin Pullar, Regina
Thomas Sierzycki, La Ronge
Jocelyn Underwood, Regina
Kyle Mitchell, Regina

Media Contact:

Mark Rathwell
Corporate Communications Manager
Access Communications Co-operative
Phone: 306.559.2401

For customer service, products, and services please call  1-866-363-2225.