Access Communications offers $20,000 in scholarships to Grade 12 students in Saskatchewan

Regina, SK – Applications are now open for the 2023 Access Communications Doug Alexander Scholarship Program. The program awards up to 20 students each year with a $1,000 scholarship. High school graduates in communities served by Access Communications are eligible for the award.

Established in 2005, the Access Communications Doug Alexander Scholarship Program has awarded more than $400,000 to nearly 1,400 students since its inception. The program’s scholarship recipients don’t just exhibit academic excellence – they demonstrate a genuine passion for volunteerism, giving their time and talent to improve their communities.

“Our scholarship program focuses on the exceptional students who make their communities better by volunteering their time and talent,” said Fran Moran, Community Relations Manager at Access Communications. “We know the difference today’s youth can make in the province with their passion for helping others, and we’re honoured to help them as they continue on their educational journey.”

The program is named in honour of Doug Alexander, a legendary Saskatchewan broadcaster and former Community Relations Manager for Access. “Doug used to say that if everyone did their part, the world would be a better place,” said Moran. “And we know Doug would be proud of the wonderful work our province’s young people do to support their communities.”

In 2022, Access awarded scholarships to the following students:

  • Zaye Andreas, Martensville
  • Madeline Bray, Abernethy
  • Jaspyn Campbell, Yorkton
  • Karlee Dorey, Regina
  • Jonathan Fetsch, Yorkton
  • Corina Fritz, Rosetown
  • Kaelin Hardy, Watrous
  • Caiden Hendry, Nokomis
  • Mikayla Herter, Fox Valley
  • Lindsay Johnson, Lampman
  • Megan Kelly, Rocanville
  • Abigayle Kirzinger, Viscount
  • Emily McCreery, Regina
  • Raivyn Millions, Oxbow
  • Reina Murphy, Wapella
  • Hunter Paranuik, Avonlea
  • Sung Park, Regina
  • Cadence Tucker, Lashburn
  • Elliott Wagner, Balgonie
  • Wilson Williams, Regina

The application deadline for this year’s scholarships is Friday, March 17, 2023. An awards committee selects the recipients by considering criteria, including contribution to the community, academic achievement, extracurricular school activity, and more.

To learn more about the program, visit


About Access Communications Co-operative

Access Communications Co-operative began serving customers in 1978 and has grown into one of Saskatchewan’s largest telecommunications companies. We deliver exceptional communications and entertainment services to over 235 communities and 200,000 square kilometres of rural areas across our province. As a community-owned, not-for-profit co-operative, our commitment to the community goes beyond providing internet, television, phone, and security services. We dedicate 100% of our earnings to improving the quality of life in the communities and rural areas where we live and do business, primarily through our AccessNow TV community channels, corporate initiatives and fundraising events, and our Children’s Fund charity. Visit for more information.


Media Contact:

Mark Rathwell
Corporate Communications Manager
Access Communications Co-operative
Phone: 306.559.2401

For customer service, products, and services please call  1-866-363-2225.